Sometimes I don’t want to spend my evening in the kitchen after a long day at work, and sometimes I don’t want to spend half of my Sunday preparing for the upcoming week. That said, my future self always thanks me. So for those days, we plan accordingly. We plan for quick 30 minute meals, crockpot meals, or leftovers on days we know in advance will be busy. Then on the weekends, and other non-busy days, we play in the kitchen and spend time making things like the impossible casserole possible. Justin has some serious stamina in the kitchen. He genuinely loves to cook and spend time turning our ideas into masterpieces. I love being in the kitchen, too, especially with him. I don’t have quite the tenacity Justin has. I like things that are quick, easy and delicious…and preferably all three things in one dish or dessert. That is what I like to create. I enjoy learning from Justin though, and learning to cultivate my patience in the kitchen. Truly great things happen, like this meat and sweet potato casserole.

It is the casserole that doubles as a great dinner and tasty breakfast with the leftovers.

See if you can’t turn the impossible into your next favorite casserole in your own kitchen! We’ve streamlined the recipe and instructions to make it easier so you can get to the good part a little faster! If you try this recipe, we’d love to know what you think. Leave a comment below and add a rating. Also, take a picture and tag it on Instagram #realsimplegood so we can check it out!

meat and sweet potato casserole - 78meat and sweet potato casserole - 17meat and sweet potato casserole - 1