The recipe inspiration

This recipe is kind of personal to me, because it is loosely based on a recipe from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook (aka the BIG RED cookbook). This is the oldest cookbook I own (circa the year 2000) and it was given to me by my Mom. I remember when she gave a copy to my brother, sister and I for Christmas, it must have been 2000 or 2001. For me, this was when I was just starting out in college and really cooking a lot on my own for the first time. This cookbook was the basis for many meals and cooking tips over the years. Thank you Mom for passing the joy of cooking down to each of us, you’ve inspired us all in so many ways.

My version of white chicken chili

I know I liked the Betty Crocker recipe because I remember making it a lot back in the day. It was my go-to for a flavorful chili I could load up with toppings. In fact, when I pulled the cookbook off the shelf there it was, bookmarked so I could flip right to it. For this version, I omitted the beans and corn but kept the lime juice to give the chili a tart flavor profile. For the rest, just add some bell pepper, onion, garlic, broth and simple seasonings and it’s good to go!

The toppings are where it’s at

While this instant pot white chicken chili has excellent flavor on its own, I love to load it up with toppings to really finish it off. Some fresh chopped cilantro, jalapeño and avocado slices are my go to for this recipe. I also like to add sour cream or cheese (if you eat dairy). A dairy-free alternative to sour cream is plain coconut yogurt. We use the Coyo brand plain yogurt, it has the thick, creamy texture of sour cream and goes well with savory dishes.

Some other cozy Instant Pot recipes

Your turn to try this instant pot white chicken chili

Got a busy week and need an easy meal with minimal prep? No worries. Make this white chicken chili for a quick and easy weeknight dinner! Leave a comment below and let us know how it goes. Also, take a pic to share on Instagram. Tag us @realsimplegood, and give us a follow if you don’t already. We’d love to stay connected! SHARE IT NOW OR PIN IT FOR LATER!

Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 83Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 35Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 79Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 35Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 99Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 14Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 42Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 97Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 79Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 42Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 24Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 92Instant Pot White Chicken Chili  Paleo  Whole30   Keto  - 26